New screening tool for efficient semiconductor production

A project of the start-up DIVE imaging systems GmbH

Modell der Hyperspectral Vision Technology für Halbleiterfertigung

Ecological savings in semiconductor production

The project idea aims to quantify the ecological savings in semiconductor production with the help of hyperspectral vision technology. By using this screening tool, system control wafers can be saved, production errors avoided, and production capacities used in a more resource-efficient manner.

DIVE imaging systems GmbH develops innovative inspection tools that combine the advantages of optical spectroscopy with imaging. AI algorithms make the process steps in semiconductor production more comprehensively controllable, and the use of operating resources can be reduced.

Wafer measurements in seconds

The ecological savings potential is quantified in two steps in the Green ICT Space project. First, the VEpioneer system is qualified for cleanroom use, followed by implementing a further developed system solution for 100% control of the production steps.

DIVE's technology enables more efficient process monitoring and control in resource-intensive semiconductor production. Wafer measurements can be carried out in a matter of seconds.

Considerable resource savings expected

Early fault detection can save resources and reduce faulty production, which leads to a reduction in CO2 emissions, water consumption and process chemicals. Potential savings of up to 40% are possible in front-end production. The exact savings potential for each process step will be quantified over the course of the project.

Commercial distribution and further development of the developed system solution

Once the project has been completed, the system solutions developed for the cleanroom will be actively marketed to customers in semiconductor production. The plan is to develop the technology further and establish a joint test bed for potential users from industry and science.


Project partner:
Dr. Philipp Wollmann, Dr. Wulf Grählert, DIVE imaging systems GmbH
Fraunhofer Institute for Photonic Microsystems IPMS

Project period:
Start: January 1, 2024, end: December 31, 2024

Neues Screeningtool für eine effiziente Halbleiterfertigung

Ein Projekt des Start-ups DIVE imaging systems GmbH

Modell der Hyperspectral Vision Technology für Halbleiterfertigung

Ökologische Einsparungen in der Halbleiterfertigung

Das Ziel der Projektidee ist es, die ökologischen Einsparungen in der Halbleiterfertigung mithilfe der Hyperspectral Vision Technologie zu quantifizieren. Durch den Einsatz dieses Screeningtools können Anlagenkontrollwafer eingespart, Fehlproduktionen vermieden und Produktionskapazitäten ressourcenschonender genutzt werden.

Die DIVE imaging systems GmbH entwickelt innovative Inspektionstools, die die Vorteile der optischen Spektroskopie mit der Bildgebung kombinieren. Durch KI-Algorithmen werden die Prozessschritte in der Halbleiterfertigung umfassender kontrollierbar und der Einsatz von Betriebsmitteln kann verringert werden.

Wafermessungen in Sekundenschnelle

Im Green ICT Space-Projekt wird das ökologische Einsparpotenzial in zwei Schritten quantifiziert. Zunächst wird das VEpioneer-System für die Reinraumnutzung qualifiziert, gefolgt von der Implementierung einer weiterentwickelten Systemlösung für eine 100%-ige Kontrolle der Produktionsschritte.

Die Technologie von DIVE ermöglicht eine effizientere Prozesskontrolle und -steuerung in der ressourcenintensiven Halbleiterfertigung. Wafermessungen können in Sekundenschnelle durchgeführt werden.

Erhebliche Ressourceneinsparungen erwartet

Durch die frühzeitige Fehlererkennung können Ressourcen eingespart und fehlerhafte Produktion reduziert werden, was zu einer Verringerung von CO2-Emissionen, Wasserverbrauch und Prozesschemikalien führt. In der Front-End-Fertigung sind Einsparpotenziale von bis zu 40% möglich. Im Projektverlauf werden die genauen Einsparpotenziale für jeden Prozessschritt quantifiziert.

Kommerzielle Verbreitung und Weiterentwicklung der entwickelten Systemlösung

Nach Abschluss des Projekts sollen die entwickelten Systemlösungen für den Reinraum aktiv an Kunden in der Halbleiterfertigung vertrieben werden. Es ist geplant, die Technologie weiterzuentwickeln und ein gemeinsames Testbett für potenzielle Anwender aus Industrie und Wissenschaft zu etablieren.


Projektpartner:
Dr. Philipp Wollmann, Dr. Wulf Grählert, DIVE imaging systems GmbH
Fraunhofer-Institut für Photonische Mikrosysteme IPMS

Projektzeitraum:
Start: 01.01.2024, Ende: 31.12.2024